KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Umphrey's McGee - 10/28/2009: McNear's Mystic Theatre, Petaluma CA
Umphrey's McGee - 10/28/2009:  McNear's Mystic Theatre, Petaluma CA
Photos by:  Brian Spady  [View More]
Concert Review by Max Filter on 10/29/2009   

McNear's Mystic Theater in Petaluma, California was the first sold out show of the west coast tour to my knowledge. With a capacity of 550 and a proximity to San Francisco of some 40 miles, it's easy to understand why. Umphrey's was definitely feeling the energy last night as they proceeded to rock out and have what looked like, from my spot on the floor, a whole lot of fun.

The show began with an ethereal build into a stock Walletsworth. Prowler came next, blazing in glory to heights of guitar riff ecstasy before transitioning abruptly into Turn and Run. This combination was actually the beginning of my 2009 tour season in Tulsa and I have to say I rather like the sound of it. It's almost good enough to make me forget the Prowler > Africa that I heard at my first Umphrey's show ever way back in 2004. Turn and Run featured a little bit of jamming but nothing noteworthy. August, however, set the room on fire. At least that's what one would have thought with the massive clouds of smoke billowing forth, affording Waful his favorite kind of canvas to show off the lights. The band launched into a very tight funky-pulse “Jimmy Stewart” that carried the song to its conclusion. Cinninger took a minute to introduce the members of the band, just in case anybody in the venue had forgotten where they were.

A very nasty Search 4 followed the brief pause for band intros, showing off the band's precision and dexterity more than their improvisational skills. The boys really do a good job of balancing their progressive rock tunes and their jammed out ones in a given set. Tribute to the Spinal Shaft helped to bring that contrast into sharp focus, as it housed a hot dance-beat wawa-pedal “Stewart” as if to offset it's own rocking roots. Some heavy bass jamming from Stasik led right into a solid rendition of The Floor to end the second set. I love getting Search 4 and The Floor close to each other. To get them sandwiched around a Tribute...well, that's just awesome.

A relaxed set break gave everyone a chance to catch some fresh air outside of the cozy little theater. Although there was plenty of dancing room (despite the sell-out), the air inside had become decidedly hazy. When we had all spent enough time gibbering to each other about how good the first set had been, we returned to our posts to feed some more off the sonic assault that is Umphrey's McGee Live.

Set two opener was a whopping 17 minute Ringo, complete with a complex and well delivered “Jimmy Stewart.” Starting off as a kind of disco rock riff, it transitioned into a whirlwind solo from Kris Myers that was reminiscent of something Animal the Muppet might play. The whole thing became a pretty heavy metal jam before settling down into the ending of Ringo. Sparking back up from a dead stop, Believe the Lie appeared out of the midst of this dark build. You could tell the band was having fun with this one, jamming out within the structure of the song but not really planning on taking it anywhere. Keeping the light-hearted mood going Cinninger launched into a brief but cheerful rendition of the countryesque Good Ol' Boys, a rare treat.

Then came something new for me, and it surprised the hell out of me because I haven't heard anyone else talk about Umphrey's playing it before. The played Breathe, which I knew they had in the past but had never heard. However, they played it the Easy Star All-Star's Dub Side Of The Moon way rather than in the style of the Pink Floyd original. And it was absolutely amazing! Not just Breathe but the 15 minute raging dance party jam that was sandwiched inside. I believe I have a new favorite Umphrey's Jam.

Breathe segued into Spires, one of the better versions I've heard. It seems like the Mantis songs continue to improve every time they are played. I can get behind that trend. The set closer was Sociable Jimmy which, after a brief hiccup (“This is what's called we f*#&ed up” exclaimed Bayliss before starting over), went off without any further problems. That's Ok. I'll accept a slip up on an intro now and then as long as they keep delivering the energy and talent that make shows like last evening's so incredible. A good encore of Miss Tinkle's Overture with a little dance party reprise of its own closed out the night and sent us all home, sleepy, smiling, and satisfied. 

Set One
Walletsworth, Prowler > Turn and Run, August, Search 4, Tribute to the Spinal Shaft > The Floor
Set Two
Ringo, Believe the Lie, Good Ol' Boys, Breathe* > Spires, Sociable Jimmy
Encore
Miss Tinkle's Overture

*Dub Style


Photos by: Brian Spady  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have the Most Interesting Man Send an eCard for You Have Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead send an eCard for you
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
TuneCore Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes KindWeb Merchandise
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.