KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Yonder Mountain String Band - 3-30-2010: Crystal Bay Club, Crystal Bay, NV
Yonder Mountain String Band - 3-30-2010:  Crystal Bay Club, Crystal Bay, NV
Photos by:  Brian Spady  [View More]
Concert Review by Brian Spady on 4/1/2010   

I began the drive from San Francisco to North Lake Tahoe with eager anticipation since I had not had a chance to see Yonder Mountain String Band perform since North West String Summit last summer. The fact that a snow storm was brewing on the horizon did nothing to dampen my spirits. That was until I got stuck behind slow moving trucks and cars in the snow laced mountain pass. The 200 mile trip that usually takes 3 hours, ended up dragging out over 6 hours. Still, by the time I crossed the boarder between California and Nevada on the north shore of lake Tahoe, and could see the Crystal Bay Club just up the road, all my frustration disappeared.

With just over an hour before the doors opened for the show, I pulled into the Biltmore hotel and checked in. I could already see that the area was chocked full with Yonder fans. After getting settled, I ran across the street to the Crystal Bay Club and to my surprise saw signs all over the casino that tonight’s show was sold out. I don’t think any of the shows I have seen in this wonderful venue have ever been sold out, and defiantly not on a weekday.  This only added to my growing excitement. Dave, Jeff, Adam, and Ben finally came out on stage after what felt like an eternity and got the packed house dancing with Ten. The joy on people faces and they pounded their feet and threw their hands up in the air was a beautiful sight to behold. Sharecropper’s Son is a personal favorite of mine and they performed it perfectly. I was glad to see Dave Johnston step it up with Mental Breakdown, watching him and Jeff Austin battle it out between the mandolin and banjo always brings a smile to my face. Another YMSB favorite of mine is Crow Black Chicken as it always turns into an audience sing along and gets everyone dancing. Closing out the first set was Sidewalk Stars into Out of the Blue.  By this point I was drenched in sweat from dancing so hard.

As the first set ended, 650 plus people exited the venue and descended upon the casino.  I could see the pit boss’s eyes get big with unease.  Here was a loud, sweaty crowd taking over the casino floor that they where not prepared to deal with. I think they visibly relaxed after awhile when they saw that we were harmless and simply wanted to gamble. There where cries of success and moans of pain as hippies won big and lost hard during the set break. A quick peek outside the casino showed me that the snow storm had increased in it’s intensity, with several new inches of fresh snow on the ground.

The second set started with a bang, Boatman’s Dance led off with new sweat forming on my body by the time they moved seamlessly into Dawns Early Light.  The second set clearly showed the skill of Jeff Austin’s mandolin playing. I have yet to see anyone look as animated while playing such a small instrument. Finally Ben Kaufmann stepped up and performed an oldie but a goodie in the form of 40 Miles to Denver, which really got the crowd in an uproar.  To close out the second set we where treated to sandwich of On The Run into Looking Back Over My Shoulder back into On The Run. With the crowd begging and cheering for more, Yonder did not make us wait long as they came out and treated us to a two song encore consisting of Half Moon Rising and Troubled Mind. So ended the first night of tour. Exhausted but satisfied, I crawled my way through the snow drifts, fighting against the wind to get across the street to my hotel and my warm bed.

Set 1
Ten
Night Out
Sharecropper’s Son
Pride Of Alabama
Rag Doll
Mental Breakdown
Honestly
I Had to Leave My Boots Behind
Crow Black Chicken
I’ll Never Love Anybody
100 Years
Sidewalk Stars
Out of the Blue

Set 2
Boatman’s Dance
Dawns Early Light
Cuckoo’s Nest
River
Deep Pockets
Loved You Enough
Illinois Rain
40 Miles to Denver
Sideshow Blues
Crazy Train
Part 1
On The Run
Looking Back Over My Shoulder
On The Run

Encore:
Half Moon Rising
Troubled Mind


Photos by: Brian Spady  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Bob Weir and Phil Lesh send an eCard for you Have Your Message on a Billboard
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes KindWeb Merchandise TuneCore
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.