KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Yonder Mountain String Band - 3-31-2010: Crystal Bay Club, Crystal Bay, NV
Yonder Mountain String Band - 3-31-2010:  Crystal Bay Club, Crystal Bay, NV
Photos by:  Brian Spady  [View More]
Concert Review by Brian Spady on 4/5/2010   

I awoke from my slumber half expecting to find the Biltmore Hotel had been buried under a ton of snow. This seemed highly probable seeing as how when the show ended the night before it was full on blizzard conditions outside. As I was walking back to my hotel room last night I assumed with this much snow falling we would be sure to get a Snow on the Pines the following night. As pulled myself out from under the covers and pulled apart the curtains from my window, what I saw surprised me. No trace of the new snow that had fallen during night before remained on the ground. Not only that, but the sun was out, with blue skies visible with a few, small scattered clouds hanging up in the air. My hopes for the Snow on the Pines was dashed in an instant. Show time was only a few hours away so I busied myself with getting showered and then set myself to the task of winning some money at the blackjack tables.

As I once again crossed the street to the Crystal Bay Club, I noticed how much warmer it was as I could see more Yonder Fans hanging out outside the shelter of the craps tables. Upon entering the casino I was greeted with signs saying that tonightís show was sold out, just as last nightís show was. As the lights finally dimmed and Dave, Jeff, Adam, and Ben took to the stage amid a loudly cheering crowd. Wasting no time, the Yonder boyís jumped right in with Blue Collar Blues which only served to increase the cheering and yelling. Adam came to the mic and started singing the lyrics of Another Day, a fast little number that not only made my feet hurt, but forced my to surrender my position near the front of the stage to get some water. By the time I had made to the bar and back Jeff Austin had launched into a ridiculous sandwich of Jesus on the Mainline with Fine Excuses residing smack-dab in the middle. Once this compilation finally ended I was sweaty and happy, but out of water. Once again, I headed in search of more hydration. Out of the corner of my ear I started to here a familiar tune followed my wild cheering and screams of joy. Moving closer to the stage I finally recognized the song for what it was, The Grateful Deadís New Speedway Boogie! I simply love it when Yonder covers anything by The Dead, they simply do it so well, it is an absolute pleasure to hear.

I spent the set break catching up with old friends, determined not to lose anymore money gambling, at least until the show ended that is. The second set started with a true danceiní tune, If You Are Ever in Oklahoma moving seamlessly into Up On The Hill Where They Do The Boogie, another favorite of mine that I had not had the pleasure of hearing since NW String Summit 2008.  Next up for hardcore dancing fans was the epic Rambliní in the Rambler with nice cool down song in the form of Sometimes Iíve Won which had everyone singing along with Ben Kaufmann. Following this was a much needed Rambliní reprise. Keeping with the fast pace of the already awesome second set came the much appreciated Raleigh and Spencer right into the wacky King Ebeneezer and then Ruby to close the set. As the crowd cheered and roared, demanding more kick ass music, Yonder did not disappoint. Coming back out on stage they gave our sore dancing feet a chance to rest with the tune At The End of the Day. Then, as a April Fools trick Ben was pleased to announce a special guest, Trey Anastasio, to which Jeff started laughing saying that Trey was waiting on their tour bus. This got everyone else laughing as Yonder launched into Ramblerís Anthem, thus ending the Crystal Bay two night run. Determined to win back some of the money I lost, I headed to the blackjack table. Within a couple hours I had won close to $250 and determined I should try and keep my winnings rather than shoot for more money. Look back here on Kindweb in the next couple days as I continue to follow YMSB into California for the Santa Cruz and the San Francisco shows.

Set 1
Blue Collar Blues
Polly Put The Kettle On
Too Late Now
Deep Pockets
Another Day
Ainít No Way of Knowing
Jesus on the Mainline
Fine Excuses
Jesus on the Mainline
Finally Saw The Light
Bolton Stretch
Classic Situation
Long Time
New Speedway Boogie
East Nashville

Set 2
If Youíre Ever In Oklahoma
Up On The Hill Where They Do The Boogie
Winds On Fire
Elzicís Farewell
Complicated
Not Far Away
Ramblin in the Rambler
Sometimes Iíve Won
Rambliní Reprise
Natchez Whistle
Raleigh and Spencer
King Ebeneezer
Ruby

Encore:
At The End of The Day
Ramblerí Anthem


Photos by: Brian Spady  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Jerry Garcia and Phil Lesh send and eCard for you! Have Bob Weir and Phil Lesh send an eCard for you
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
KindWeb Merchandise Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes TuneCore
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.