KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Yonder Mountain String Band - 4-01-10: The Catalyst, Santa Cruz, CA
Yonder Mountain String Band - 4-01-10:  The Catalyst, Santa Cruz, CA
Photos by:  Brian Spady  [View More]
Concert Review by Brian Spady on 4/5/2010   

Waking up getting everything in my car takes way longer than I had planned in my drunken state the night before. Or maybe its because my body is wracked y pain from dancing so hard the past to nights. I am thankful the roads look clear of snow as I start up my car begin the long drive back towards the bay area. Traffic gets bad along the journey and any plans of stopping in San Francisco to shower and change clothing disappear as the hours click away on  my watch. So I ended up driving straight for Santa Cruz, welcoming the fact that at least the sun was out and the temperature went up steadily as I got closer to the coast. I managed to get  close enough to Santa Cruz to stop at some good friends house along the way and drive with them to The Catalyst in preparation of the 8:30 start time. Upon entering, I ran into some other friends that had a homemade sign, with pictures of Sandy Alexander and Marie Davidson. This sign was a homage too these two  avid Yonder  fans that have passed away in the past  four years that where very active in the Yonder community.

Unfortunately there must have been a miscommunication somewhere in the information chain between Yonder and The Catalyst since 8:30 came and went. Finally around 9:20, with the now packed dance floor getting very antsy, the lights dimmed and the band took to the stage. With great intensity, as if they knew they had better make up for their tardiness, Yonder launched right in with If Loving You is Killing Me. This fast little number instantly brought smiles to everyoneís dancing faces.  The entire first set was jammed full of song sandwiches. The first being with New Horizons leading into the John Hartford cover, Steam Powered Aereoplane. These two songs  are Yonder gems and where only heightened by the fact that the second half of New Horizons made up the other part of this song sandwich. The second one came in the form of Traffic Jam containing Frank Zappaís I am The Slime in the middle.  The cover was performed flawlessly as they always, then leading into the end of the incredibly fast Traffic Jam. This closed out the first set.

Once again sweaty, and this time hungry as well, I headed to the pizza counter at The Catalyst. I hungrily wolfed down two slices of cheese pizza. The first set had been so good, I really wondered what Yonder had in store for us in the second. We didnít have to wait long to find out, as Jeff, Ben, Adam and Dave re-took to the stage and started us off with No Expectations, a beautiful mandolin number that had the crowd singing along. Next Ben walked to the microphone and started some fast bass notes, singing out the lyrics to Redbird. My stomach began to question the intelligence of eating so much pizza and dancing so hard. The pace simply did not stop, with each song that followed serving to raising the energy level up another notch. To end the second set, Yonder showed another monster song sandwich down the throats of tired but very happy fans. As the opening notes of Snow On The Pines echoed off the stage, the crowd began to cheer with new found energy. This version was very special since it contained both the Talking Heads cover Girlfriend Is Better as well as Morning Dew, written by Bonnie Dobson but made famous by The Grateful Dead. This simply blew my mind and as they entered into the ending melody of  Snow On The Pines the slack jawed faces of the fans began to fill with smiles and cheers.

Not making the screaming fans wait very long, Yonder came back out and closed out the night with Two Hits and the Joint Turned Brown. The past three nights have seen so many of my favorite songs come and go, performed beautifully and leaving me breathless. I was left scratching my head, wondering what they had left in them for the next two nights. I make the decision to leave Santa Cruz immediately and head towards home, my girlfriend, my bed and my puppy.

Set 1
If Loving You is Killing Me
This Train is Bound For Glory
Rag Mama
Wildewood Drive
New Horizons
Steam Powered Aereoplane
New Horizons
A Fatherís Arms
Little Rabbit
Romance Blues
Traffic Jam
I Am The Slime
Traffic Jam

Set 2
No Expectations
Red Bird
Rambliní Boy
Donít You Lean On Me
Southbound
Casualty
Damned If The Right One Didnít Go Wrong
Pow Wow the Indian Boy
Iíd Like Off
Snow On The Pines
Girlfriend is Better
Morning Dew
Snow On The Pines

Encore
???
Two Hits and the Joint Turned Brown


Photos by: Brian Spady  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Your Message on a Billboard Have the Most Interesting Man Send an eCard for You
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes KindWeb Merchandise TuneCore
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.