KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Umphrey's McGee - 6/3/2010: House of Blues; Dallas, TX
Umphrey's McGee - 6/3/2010:  House of Blues; Dallas, TX
Photos by:  Brian Spady  [View More]
Concert Review by Bryan Tobian on 6/7/2010   

A good friend of mine tells me that he has always experienced any troubles getting to a show as a good omen that said show is going to be a barn burner.  This could all be in his mind, but the adage has rung true for me over this past week while following around Umphrey’s McGee.  I’m a bit of a Slacker so these problems often tend to crop up two by two, but this past week of Umphrey’s has been the most consistently amazing week of music I’ve ever seen from them.  Last night in Dallas, it was like Umphrey’s was playing directly to me, slaying a raging show at the House of Blues.

Getting to Dallas was a small hassle.  I’ve been on the road for a week, flown on at least as many planes as days I’ve been away and, frankly I’m ready to go home.  A direct flight from New Orleans should take about an hour, but somehow, I ended up connecting in Memphis which about tripled my flying time for the day.  It was a cloud covered afternoon as I arrived in the Lone Star State and I feared rain was abound.  Upon getting off the plane, I noticed that the thick humid air of New Orleans was not present in Dallas and I felt a little better as I waited outside to be shuttled to the venue.

You may be asking yourself why any of this pertains to the show at all, but I swear, this is most strictly about the music.  See, as a faithful fan of the last five years, I cannot help myself but think of songs and titles that apply to my day.  And, on this particular evening in Dallas, Umphrey’s seemed to know the whole story.

“Sociable Jimmy” kicked off the set with it’s tricky, syncopated intro and jazzy verse got the crowd moving right along, continuing into “2nd Self.”  Sticking to the jazzy mood, they scooted into “Example 1” which featured a more stiff improvisation which built steadily to a guitar laden peak before dropping into the moody “Passing” off of their 2005 release Safety In Numbers.  My concert review partner and I were discussing the possibilities of what we might see and talked briefly about the slinky latin based “Prowler” and decided it wouldn’t happen since it was played over the weekend at the Summer Camp Music Festival.  Needless to say, we were pleasantly surprised as they belted through the intricate piece.  To my surprise, the up tempo flame throwing “Prowler” furiously released its explosive energy before dying down into Blind Faith classic “Can’t Find My Way Home.”  This had been exactly how I felt all day squeezed into a floating tin can all day and dreaming of a night in my own bed.  The half haunting and half driving “Utopian Fir” followed, opening up in a massive reggae dub jam led by the palpitating bass line from Ryan Stasik drawing the set to a close.

The second set blasted off with a remarkable rendition of their symphonic masterpiece “Miss Tinkle’s Overture,” one of the tunes I was itching to hear before the end of my mini-tour.  After “Tinkle’s” we were granted a small reprieve in the intensity as they invited the opening act Brock Butler to the stage to lay down one of his airy originals “Cold Gold.”  For the rest of the set, it became quite clear that Umphrey’s McGee were not just talented musicians, but also mind readers.  All day I had been singing, humming and whistling that old Paul Simon classic about my unintended connecting flight destination of Memphis, TN and sure enough, the next tune on the docket: “Graceland” with Butler making that lap steel guitar really sing.  It was so random, so perfect; my soul smiled.  “Dump City” was one I called in light of the clouds looking like rain over Dallas.  A smashing first half of “Spires” followed before finding itself in the tranquil country instrumental ditty “End of the Road” marking the end of this portion of my Umphrey’s tour.  “End of the Road” finally grooved into my last call of the night “Thin Air,” whose title seemed so fitting to celebrate the fact that I could finally breathe after the humidity of New Orleans.

Umphrey’s returned to throw down a searing “Bottom Half” encore (saving my Hurt Bird Bath call again for another show I wouldn’t be at) and drew rocked all the way to the final note.  A few members of the band stuck around to meet and greet, laugh and autograph; we all went home happy and I was happy to finally get home.  Check out umphreys.com for the rest of this summer’s tour schedule, hours of free podcasts, photos from every show, the band’s blog and so much more.   

Set One
Sociable Jimmy, 2nd Self, Example 1 > Passing, Prowler > Can't Find My Way Home, Utopian Fir

Set Two
Miss Tinkle's Overture, Cold Gold^, Graceland^, Dump City, Spires > End of the Road > Thin Air*

Encore
The Bottom Half


Photos by: Brian Spady  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Bob Weir and Phil Lesh send an eCard for you Have Bob Weir of the Grateful Dead send an eCard for you
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes KindWeb Merchandise TuneCore
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.