KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Cornmeal - 1/15/2011: Lola's Saloon; Ft. Worth, TX
Cornmeal - 1/15/2011: Lola's Saloon; Ft. Worth, TX
Photos by:  Steve Moyles  [View More]
Concert Review by Steve Moyles on 1/17/2011   

I hadn't been to a show in over a month, and was really jonesing for some live music.  Plus, I had just bought a new lens, so I really wanted to get out and take some pictures.  Luckily, Cornmeal, fresh from Jam Cruise, scheduled a show at a very small venue in Ft. Worth.  When I say small, I mean small, intimate.  The capacity limit, posted on the wall was 165 and the crowd that night was pushing that threshold.

I've seen Cornmeal a few times, and I've seen their fiddle player, Allie Kral sit in with Umphrey's and Family Groove Company several times.  Their sound ranges from traditional bluegrass to Deadesque jams.  The show at Lola's covered the whole gamut.  The crowd ranged from bluegrass fans, to TCU college kids, to Dead-Heads, and everything in between.

The setlist sent out on Twitter by the band (@cornmealband) is as follows: Drinking Away the Memory of You, The Fox, Oh Leah Lee, Not at Home Anymore, Shelter, They Love Each Other, Hasten Jason, Better Off this Way, Feather, Sheep, I'll Be Looking at You, Ain't Gonna Work Tomorrow.  I think they cut I'll Be Looking at You.

I really enjoyed the Garcia cover, They Love Each Other, as did the audience.  Also, Pink Floyd's, Sheep, was a real treat.  Allie and the guitar player, Kris Nowak, were playing around with their pedals and dials, creating a variety of sounds and feedback, imitating the original version on the Animals album.  They came back for one encore, Cornmeal in the Kitchen. 

Catch Cornmeal at Summer Camp this year over Memorial Day weekend.


Photos by: Steve Moyles  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Jerry Garcia of the Grateful Dead send an eCard for you Have the Most Interesting Man Send an eCard for You
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
TuneCore KindWeb Merchandise Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.