KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Little Feat - 6/21/2011: the Granada Theater - Dallas, TX
Little Feat - 6/21/2011: the Granada Theater - Dallas, TX
Photos by:  Steve Moyles  [View More]
Concert Review by Steve Moyles on 6/24/2011   

Last night I caught the Little Feat show at the Granada Theater in Dallas, TX, and at the same time took a time machine back 34 years, to one of my very first concerts.  The last time I saw Little Feat was May 15, 1977, and I was a 16 year old living in Baltimore.  I hadn’t even seen my first Grateful Dead show yet!  From what I remember, the band was touring for its “Time Loves a Hero” album, and they were the opening act for the Country-Rock band, Poco.  Little did I know at the time what a big impact the group, and its founding father, Lowell George, would have on Rock music.

Last night’s show was a good mix of old, classic tunes, such as Willin’ and Truck Stop Girl, from their first album (Little Feat 1971) and more recent songs, like Cajun Rage, from their 11th studio album, Ain’t Had Enough Fun (1995) and The Blues Keep Comin’ which doesn’t appear to have been recorded yet.  Church Falling Down, which originally appeared on Fred Tackett’s solo setlists a few years ago, is now in the Feat rotation. 

Some of the highlights were the older tunes.  I especially enjoyed Spanish Moon into Skin it Back, complete with a horn section.  Dixie Chicken was full of surprises.  First, half of the band left the stage about mid-way though the song, leaving only Sam Clayton, Bill Payne and Kenny Gradney on stage.  Gradney played a bass solo, and then Payne segued into The Yellow Rose of Texas, before the rest of the band returned and played the rest of the tune.  Willin’ turned into an audience sing-along, and before Don’t Bogart that Joint, Paul Barrere suggested that the crowd should sing the song while the band played the National Anthem of Jamaica.  He said the songs were almost the same, referring to proliferation of the ganja on the island.  The set ended with Let It Roll, and the encore was High Roller.

After more than 40 years touring, these guys still have it. I was looking at my Waiting for Columbus LP, which I got autographed at the show by Bill Payne and Paul Barrere, and realized that the band still includes four members that played on that album in 1978: Paul Barrere, Bill Payne, Sam Clayton and Kenny Gradney. New members are: Guitarist Fred Tackett, who joined before the Let It Roll album, released in 1988, and Gabe Ford, on the drums, who joined the band after the original drummer, Richie Hayward was unable to play due to illness.

Setlist:

Cajun Rage
Red Streamliner
Texas Twister
44 Blues
Blues Keep Comin’
Dixie Chicken
Truck Stop Girl
Willin’
Don’t Bogart that Joint
New Delhi Freight Train
Church Fallin’ Down
Spanish Moon >
Skin It Back
Let It Roll
E: High Roller

Just for fun and a little nostalgia, here the setlist from May 15, 1977 at the Baltimore Civic Center, the last time I saw them:

Walk All Night
Skin It Back >
Fat Man in the Bathtub
Red Streamliner
Oh Atlanta
Dog Day at the Races
All that You Dream
On Your Way Down
One Love Stand >
Rock ‘n’ Roll Doctor
Old Folks Boogie
Dixie Chicken >
Tripe Face Boogie


Photos by: Steve Moyles  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Bob Weir and Phil Lesh send an eCard for you Have the Most Interesting Man Send an eCard for You
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
TuneCore KindWeb Merchandise Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.