KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Summer Camp 2012 - Fri - May 25, 2012: Chillicothe, IL
Summer Camp 2012 - Fri - May 25, 2012:  Chillicothe, IL
Photos by:  Steve Moyles  [View More]
Concert Review by Steve Moyles on 5/26/2012   

Yesterday was the opening day of the Summer Camp Music Festival.  After a great pre-party on Thursday, our expectations were high for the kick-off moe. set at 12:30pm.  We were not disappointed, opening up with Not Coming Down into Wormwood.  Other highlights were Queen of Everything, Timmy Tucker, All Roads Lead to Home, Mexico and Buster.  The weather was hot and sunny, and the crowd was pumped for the start of another great festival.

Next up was Keller Williams, also an institution at Summer Camp.  Keller was doing his one man show thing, playing solo, with various instruments and electronics in his quiver.  Keller really is Music’s Mad Scientist.  So many great shows and activities overlap at Summer Camp, so I had to leave Keller mid-set and head over to the Keyboards Workshop, hosted by Joel Cummins of Umphrey’s McGee.  Also present were Jordan Wilkow of Family Groove Co., Eric Blumenfeld of Kinetix,  Joe Hettinga of Digital Tape Machine and Jesse Clayton of the Macpodz.  They played a little improvisation, discussed their craft and took questions from the audience.

After the Keys Workshop, we headed over to the Starshine Stage to catch the end of The Giving Tree Band’s performance.  If you haven’t seen the YouTube video of them doing the Grateful Dead song, Brown Eyed Women, do yourself a favor and check it out right now.  It was one of the top selections in the Dead Covers Project, and really a treat.  As we were walking up to the stage, they were playing it.  So far, The Giving Tree Band is a highlight of the festival.

Right next door to the Starshine Stage is the Sunshine Stage, or more commonly known as the Umphrey’s Stage.  Leftover Salmon was performing there, and I was surprised to see a clean-shaven Vince Herman.  The crowd was huge and energetic, despite the blazing mid-afternoon sun.  As Leftover Salmon was winding down, we headed over to the Moonshine Stage, also referred to as the moe. Stage to see Ozomatli, which was a disappointment.  The crowd was light, and the music was a letdown, probably because we were anxious to see Bob Weir, coming up next.

We made our way back over to the Umphrey’s Stage to stake out a good spot for the Weir, Robinson Greene Trio.  This was going to be an acoustic set, and I thought back and realized that it had been almost 30 years since I’d last seen Bob Weir.  Their set turnout to be a real treat, mostly Grateful Dead songs.  Highlights were an opening Truckin’, Aiko Aiko, New Speedway Boogie, West L.A. Fadeaway, Deep Elum Blues and a closing Uncle John’s Band

We stopped by to catch a few songs by Cornmeal on the way to the VIP tent to relax for a few minutes.  Cornmeal, for the time being, had put away their bluegrass licks and were playing some serious jams.  Chris Gangi was leading the way on stand-up bass.  The VIP tent is an oasis in the hot desert at Summer Camp.  With stuffed sofas and ice-cold (and cheap) drinks, it a perfect place to go when you’re parched and needing hydration.  We rested here before hitting the first Umphrey’s set of the festival.

Umphrey’s came on with 2nd Self, Pay the Snucka, Miami Virtue, a great Glory, 2X2, Ringo, Loose Ends and then closed the first set with Puppet String.  Towards the end of the set, it was getting just dark enough for the Jeff Waful Lightshow, which is almost as much an integral part of the show as the music.  We knew we had about a 30 minute set break, so we ran over to see Gogol Bordello at the moe. Stage.  Gogol Bordello plays a style of music that’s referred to as Gypsy Punk, and have a huge fan base.  I listened for a while and was positively surprised.  After a few songs we made our way back to catch the second Umphrey’s set.  The setlist: Ocean Billy, Mulche’s Odyssey, Bright Lights > Dump City > Ocean Billy, 40s Theme, Forty Six and 2 (Tool Cover), Day Nurse > Pay the Snucka.

To wrap up the evening we stopped by to listen to a few songs by Primus.  Heavily bass driven songs and a passionate group of fans took over the Moonshine Stage area for final set there.  I know there was other music going on at the other stages, but I think everyone was watching Les Claypool zigzag through his quirky lyrics and infectious bassline.  Although we missed it, rumor has it that Bob Weir came out and sat in for The Other One.  You never know what’s going to happen at Summer Camp.


Photos by: Steve Moyles  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Jerry Garcia and Phil Lesh send and eCard for you! Have Your Message on a Billboard
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes TuneCore KindWeb Merchandise
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.