KindWeb
Connect with KindWeb on Facebook
Connect with KindWeb on Twitter
   Welcome KindFolks!
Back to List of Reviews
Summer Camp 2012 - Sun - May 27, 2012: Chillicothe, IL
Summer Camp 2012 - Sun - May 27, 2012:  Chillicothe, IL
Photos by:  Steve Moyles  [View More]
Concert Review by Steve Moyles on 5/29/2012   

Well, the final day of the Summer Camp Music Festival was upon us.  How fast time flies when you’re having fun.  Today, it looked like some of the shows I wanted to see where over at the Starshine Stage, clear on the far side of the park.  Another day of intensive walking, and my dogs were killing me.  What we can endure for the things we love?  It also seemed hotter and dustier than it had been during previous days.  Note to Self: Keep Hydrated!

First up was Umphrey’s final set, scheduled for two hours at the Sunshine Stage.  The setlist:  Domino Theory, Mail Package > Great American, Phil's Farm > Deeper, Partyin' Peeps, untitled new song, Booth Love > The Fussy Dutchman, Resolution > Phil's Farm.   After Umphrey’s wrapped up, moe. was scheduled for an acoustic set over at the Starshine Stage.  This would be an interesting departure from their normal in-your-face Rock ‘n’ Roll.  The setting was much more intimate, a smaller stage, and softer more organic music.  Highlights of the set were an opening St. Augustine, as well as 32 Things and Bones of Lazarus.

We made our way over to the Church to see the Drums Workshop, featuring Andy Farag of Umphrey’s McGee, Greg Fundis of Math Games and Nigel Felony of Floodwood.  It turned out to be interesting seeing how the percussionists interact with the drummers, and how the differences in the sounds can complement each other.  Nigel had a contraption that resembled a wooden martial arts training device, but this one made different sounds when you struck it with your hands.  Very cool, and not something you see every day.   After a short rest in the shade, I returned to the Church for the Bass Workshop, with Rob Derhak of moe., and Janis Wallin of Family Groove Co.  I only stayed for a little while, and it was hard to tear myself away from the air conditioning, but I had places to go and people to see. 

I wandered back to the Starshine Stage for the Dirty Dozen Brass Band.  These guys are super fun, and they make every day seem like Mardi Gras.  There were lots of horns and lots of dancing.  Then it was all the way over to the Moonshine Stage for the end of the Yonder Mountain String Band set, which I caught with about 15 minutes to spare.  There is so much going on that there isn’t enough time to get comfortable.  You’ve got to keep moving, or you’re going to miss something.

After a short visit and rest at the VIP Tent, I headed back to the Moonshine Stage for the Tedeschi Trucks Band.  They’re touring in support of their new album, Everybody’s Talking, which I highly recommend.  I’ve seen these guys a couple times before. I love Derek Trucks’ slide guitar work, and Susan Tedeschi’s vocals.  They played a nice set highlighted by Don’t Let Me Slide, Midnight in Harlem, Learn How to Love and Bound for Glory

Next up at the Moonshine Stage was Pretty Lights, and as expected, it was super-crowded.  Normally, Electronic Dance Music isn’t my style, but the beat is really infectious.  And the way it takes over the audience is a sight to see, not to mention the wild light show.  They did a cover of Pink Floyd’s Time and also played Finally Moving.  I left before the set ended, which was difficult due to the pulsing and swaying masses.  It was like the crowd became one, single, giant entity.  I quickly made it to the Starshine Stage to catch the final couple songs of Galactic’s set.  They wrapped up their set with Led Zeppelin’s Trampled Under Foot, which included a Dirty Dozen Brass Band sit-in.

Our final set for the day and for the festival was Jane’s Addiction, at the Sunshine Stage.  As expected, everyone was there.  Perry Farrell is a real showman, constantly bantering with the crowd.  He told a story about the hotel they were staying at, which was also hosting the Ragtime World Championship.  He joked that while all the old folks were at the competition, the guys from the band stole all their jewelry.  This, of course led into Been Caught Stealing.  He also scolded the crowd for throwing glow sticks on stage.  Jane Says turned into a big sing along.

After four days of intense music and equally intense sun, the festival drew to a close.  Moe. had a late set, but it was getting to be past my bedtime, and I had an early flight out tomorrow.  This year’s festival was a huge success.  The rearranged stage layout required a little more walking between shows, but also spread things out enough so you didn’t feel too crowded.  The festival season is ramping up with Wakarusa, Electric Forest, Bonaroo, All Good, Mountain Jam and moe.down all coming up during the summer.  We’ll be seeing you out there.


Photos by: Steve Moyles  
Previous   -   Next
Featured eCards
Have Bob Weir of the Grateful Dead send an eCard for you Have Mike Gordon and Chewbacca send an eCard for You
Featured News
Travelin' McCourys announce fall tour, New Years plans, and first ever recorded music  9/16/2016
Jeff Mattson and Rob Eaton of Dark Star Orchestra to Sit In with New Riders of the Purple Sage at the Grateful Get Down  7/27/2016
Deep Roots Mountain Revival Announces Initial Artist Lineup  4/29/2016
Dumpstaphunk Kicks Off Spring Tour with Dates Across the South  4/7/2016
Yonder Mountain Sets Their Sights On the South with Dates in Texas and Louisiana This Weekend  3/29/2016
The String Cheese Incident Announce Summer Tour / New Music  3/8/2016
Phish Announce 2016 Summer Tour  2/5/2016
The Werks Host STS9, Lettuce and more at The Werk Out Music & Arts Festival  2/4/2016
Dark Star Orchestra Host Yonder Mountain String Band, Hot Tuna Electric, Leftover Salmon and more at the Dark Star Jubilee, May 27-29 at Legend Valley  1/14/2016
String Cheese Incident Announces March Madness Tour  1/7/2016
FARE THEE WELL: Celebrating the 50th Anniversary of the Grateful Dead by Jay Blakesberg Released December 1, 2015  11/17/2015
The String Cheese Incident Release Three-Disk Set, Rhythm of the Road: Volume 2, Live in Las Vegas  10/9/2015
Art Outside Publishes 2015 Stage Schedule  9/25/2015
Keller Williams Trio Announces New Years Eve in Telluride, CO  9/2/2015
Don't Miss The Aquarium Rescue Unit's 26th Anniversary Tour  8/12/2015
Bears Picnic Finalizes Schedule and Gets Ready for Perfect Weather with Special Guest Stopping by Through the Weekend  8/5/2015
Get Ready for Art Outside 2015, a Fall Festival Not To Miss  7/8/2015
Postcard Giveaway at Grateful Dead 50th Anniversary Concerts Aims to Spur 10,000 Socially-Conscious Actions  6/29/2015
Suwannee Hulaweeen wave 1 line-up announcement  6/29/2015
All Good Music Festival and Flying Dog Collaborate to Make 'All Good Ale' A Reality  5/20/2015
...view more news...
TuneCore Purchase Ed Van Wicklen's New CD, Till the End, on iTunes KindWeb Merchandise
 Advertising Information  •  Contact Us  •  How To Get Reviewed  •  Link To Us  •  Mailing List  •  Privacy Policy  •  Meet the KindWeb Family
1998 - 2017   KindWeb.com.   All Rights Reserved.